Meditations of the Heart (Thurman) Day 15

As long as a person has a dream in his heart, he cannot lose the significance of living (Thurman, 36).

balloons reflected in tranquil water
Float away dreams, leave your residue in my mind and float beyond me to become.

Such things as dreams are often regarded as romantic, or a badge of immaturity, or as escape hatches for the human spirit.  I remember my mom would gently run her hand over my face when she caught me staring into space, dreaming.

She seemed to not want me to day dream. There was a sense that dreamers don’t have all of it together, they’ve got their heads in the clouds.

Y’know, I don’t think that’s a bad thing.

What I regret is those people who dampen the dreams of others. Those who insist in rational thoughts only and smother any dreams from coming to fullness. Thurman would say: “The dream is the quiet persistence in the heart that enables a man to ride out the storms of his churning experiences.”

“The dream in the heart is an outlet. It is one with the living water welling up from the very springs of Being, nourishing and sustaining all of life.” (36)

balloon with pin prick
Why are we tempted to burst someone’s balloon? Can we not stand to see others dream of better things?

Don’t burst my balloon! 

Leave a comment